Let’s play catch (up)

So it’s been some time since I’ve last blogged.

During my figurative absence from the web, for once in my life, I have not been idle.  Not idle, you say?  Stephanie?

Yes, Stephanie.  And not idle.

You might even call me…busy.

Let me explain.

This past summer I have been working at Hume Lake Christian Camps, located in northern(ish) California about an hour and a half up the mountains from Fresno in the Yosemite area.  I was a barista, as I am wont to be, and had the pleasure of working out of a brand new coffee shop that made me realize just how lame the establishment I had previously been working in really was.  And how overworked I was.

But don’t get me wrong!  I still worked at this wonderful coffee shop in the sky, for 48 hours a week.  But somehow, I wasn’t mentally, emotionally and physically exhausted. 

The aforementioned and completely unecessary “somehow” had to do a lot with my coworkers and boss, all of whom were a joy to work with and to know.  Not only was I never working shifts by myself and running a whole coffee shop and kitchen, but everyone around me was a fellow follower of Christ.  With these girls I shared not only the labor of my hands and my time, but my concerns and myself.

So needless to say, I loved the summer.  My job was air-conditioned, for the love of Pete!

So as the summer drew to a close, I began getting antsy.  Although I began to miss San Diego, I wanted desperately to continue my more meaningful and pure life in the mountains.  I didn’t want to go back to my old job and possibly bipolar boss.  I didn’t want to go back to community college and try to pass the class I had failed last semester.  I didn’t want to go back to living at home (although I’m very grateful to my parents for allowing me to live there) and my feelings of self-worthlessness and self-disdain.  At Hume Lake I was serving God every day, and I loved it.

I knew that there were no full time positions open in the coffee shop during the off season, so I sent the required letter applying for a full-time staff position without specifying where I wanted to work.  Although I wrote that I preferred to stay in food service, I also said I would be willing to work anywhere because I really wanted to stay, and we at Hume Lake know what “anywhere” means.

It means Support Services.

Support Services, or s.s., is the crew that cleans up after the guests.  They clean the lodges and various cabins, make beds, wash sheets and bedding, and shovel snow in the winter for hours on end in the butt-cold.  Or at least that’s what I’ve been told.

So of course I was invited to the position of full-time on s.s. and I asked them for time to think about it.

And I did, for a day, and decided, heck, I really want to stay up here!

So here I am, living at Hume Lake in half of a two room one bathroom house.  I have commited to stay up here for a year, which leaves me until next september, after which I plan on attending an art school.

And support services is not nearly as scary as I supposed it to be.

I love the people I work with, and I’m learning so much about the proper and efficient way to clean things!

So there you have it.

Here am I, Stephanie Gerow, support services crew, no longer an idler or waster of time(mostly).

Leave a Reply

