First World Problems: Part 1

I’ve been thinking about goals and what “the end goal” is for us humans, and do we ever “arrive”?

In the old days survival was something humanity strove for daily. And of course, for a lot of people in the world this is still the case. I’m so thankful that I have way more than I could ever need, and I don’t mean to sound like an idiot, but in a way that really complicates things.

If she didn’t have any pillows she wouldn’t have that problem.

If my main goal in life was as simple as survival I would be extremely successful. (So far.) But I guess once you meet your basic needs you are met with more complex needs. I saw a chart somewhere about that. Something about needing to meet basic needs before you really experience and have to meet emotional needs? And art was at the top of the pyramid? Wow, I’m awesome. Perhaps I can find a visual and we can see what that actually meant. Where did I see that thing? Ohhh yeah it was in the book A Fault in our Stars.

I wish the pyramid was flipped. Wouldn’t that make it easier to understand since we read top to bottom?

Now I have to feel accomplished before I can self-actualize and do “creative activities”?

Anyhoo, humanity has prolonged life with the sterilization of surgical tools and made it easier with the invention of microwaves. But if all I get from society’s better understanding of medicine and science is that I have another 6o years to worry about what I’m going to do with my life, then right now I’m just not that excited about it. And thanks to microwaves I’m expected to get a job and make money like a man instead of spending all day preparing meals for him to eat when he gets home. I mean, thanks and all that, for the delicious leftovers I just reheated for myself but seriously, Microwave? Was it worth it?

My friend Amy says that I’m going through a quarter life crisis. She’s intuitive like that. Here’s a link to a wikipedia page that defines the term at length: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quarter-life_crisis

But I ask you, why? Why is it normal (or at least predictable) for a person to have a mental freak-out 8 times in his or her life?

Another problem with society today is that we have no patience. Paul famously said that suffering produces endurance and endurance produces character, and character hope. We’re so used to getting what we want immediately that we FLIP OUT when the line in the drive thru takes 15 minutes. (There are so many things wrong with that picture that I will be addressing them at another time instead of adding them to the whole novel that I’ve prepared for you today. Although National Novel Writing Month is November, did you know that? Next month! W00t.)

Ironically, my computer just shut down and I had to wait minutes–minutes!–for it to turn back on. Then I had to retype some stuff and it was very annoying.

If this is the kind of “suffering” that’s indicative of my life, I can see why I’m such an ungrateful wretch.

We have so much in our lives that we take for granted and waste disgustingly. And I’m absolutely speaking for myself on this one. And you. That’s why I said “we”.

And this life is supposed to be so much more than I’ve made it. Was that a Switchfoot quote? Speaking of which, here’s a song of theirs that pretty much sums up my feelings. It’s one of my favorite songs so if you have the opportunity, give it a whirl.

Is there any honest song to sing besides these blues?

I think we need to simplify and prioritize. Again, I’m speaking for myself on that one. And I’m going to go out on a limb and speak for you too. (Hence the “we”, duh.)

Thanks for reading. You can totes comment if you want. You can tell me to cut back on the nerdy links and charts…

2 thoughts on “First World Problems: Part 1

Leave a Reply

