I have two legs, and at least one of them is in North Dakota

On Friday I traveled with Carl and Ariel Swenson from St. Paul to Grand Forks. They were kind enough to sacrifice precious space in their vehicle as it headed to a craft fair wherein Ariel’s business, Hello and Hooray was one of the booths featured. The fair was on the campus of the University of North Dakota; Emmy and I stopped by and saw a lot of cool items.

Afterwards we went to Five Guys Burgers and Fries with Josh. I’ve been to Five Guys in Dallas but didn’t remember the experience too well. This time my burger made enough of an impression for me to continue thinking of it fondly hours later. I ordered it with jalapeños but after eating two little slices I had to admit that they were way too hot for me and I ended up pulling them out. My eyes are tougher than my tongue.

We then headed to Lowe’s in a quest for the perfect tree and this is what we came up with.

IMG_2137

The lower branches have been a little worried from Ida the kitten. You can see the area at the bottom where no ornaments hang; that’s the Ida Tree Line.

The tree did come with one little surprise. We were trying to make sure it was straight in the stand when a dead bird fell out. It either had no head or the head was tucked behind it’s wing.We assume it froze to death, but I wonder where it came from. The Lowe’s garden center? It seems unlikely that it managed to stay on the tree all the way from the tree’s place of origin. I have been told that not very many trees try to grow here.

Ida didn’t even notice it, and Emmy bore her screaming from the room before she could.

Don’t let them tell you it’s not exciting here.

4 thoughts on “I have two legs, and at least one of them is in North Dakota

Leave a Reply

