Four months auld (lang syne)

One of my character strengths, according to Clifton’s strengths finder, is Input.

basically

 The term “input” has nothing to do with the fact that I interrupt people constantly or think I have so much important advice to offer; that’s just a funny coincidence. (Whether it’s funny-ha-ha or funny-peculiar is obvious, I think.)

If you want to read the whole long thing (I would find it interesting!) here’s the description: “You are inquisitive. You collect things. You might collect information—words, facts, books, and quotations—or you might collect tangible objects. Whatever you collect, you collect it because it interests you. And yours is the kind of mind that finds so many things interesting. If you read a great deal, it is not necessarily to refine your theories but, rather, to add more information to your archives. If you like to travel, it is because each new location offers novel artifacts and facts. These can be acquired and then stored away. Why are they worth storing? At the time of storing it is often hard to say exactly when or why you might need them, but who knows when they might become useful? With all those possible uses in mind, you really don’t feel comfortable throwing anything away. So you keep acquiring and compiling and filing stuff away. It’s interesting. And perhaps one day some of it will prove valuable.”

Anyway, what that translates to in real life (aside from not wanting Austin to throw away sponges because we could totally wash them and use them for cleaning and stuff) is the fact that I am constantly googling things, like “lyrics to Auld Lang Syne” and then spending 20 minutes reading about Robert Burns. It’s a curse, really. (Again, just ask Austin.)

Scottish poets are cute!

ANYWAY, sweet bebe Robin is four months old now.

I'm cheating because Haley took this at Thanksgiving and she wasn't quite four months yet.

I’m cheating because Haley took this at Thanksgiving and she wasn’t quite four months yet.

It has gone by so fast! (People say that a lot.)

Here are some “fun” new developments.

1. She goes much longer between feedings, which is REALLY nice at night.

2. She’s started drinking more, which is good because she’s finally catching up to my milk output and our freezer is crammed with milksicles. At the same time, I am slightly nervous that she’ll overtake me eventually. Great Depression mentality, I guess.

“Guess you jes’ never know when you’ll run outta milk, Joe.” “That’s true, Jeb.”

3. Also she usually goes days between poos now…and they are often uncontainable. Sorry. But you asked! (By reading my blog. That’ll teach you.)

4. She is looking huge!

Image

Gargantuan Babe terrorizes the far East with inadequate diapers! Locals beg Godzilla to intervene.

We got to meet precious baby Noah last night (born to Liz and David earlier this month) and even though he was born bigger than Robin (he was 8Lbs, 11oz!) he looked tiny! Tiny! The numbers kept telling me he was a big baby, but my eyes were not agreeing. He is so cute! Wish we took pictures, as always!

 Last month Robin and I flew to San Diego for a baby shower in honor of Katherine. Grandpa and Grandma decided to have early thanksgiving since there were so many of us in town. It was so nice to see everyone! I feel quite flattered that I was a desired guest, although I may be blowing the compliment out of the proportion it deserves.

Dad got his thanksgiving wish: a picture of everyone.

Poor Robert is always woken up for these things

Poor Robert is always woken up for these things. (By me.)

It was a (pre)Thanksgiving miracle! Some of us wish we had taken it the night before when we were wearing nice clothes, etc. But this is much better than nothing, since we won’t all be together for Christmas this year. 😦  Robin wasn’t in the picture because she was asleep in the other room.

The shower was lovely, and Robin got several presents too, the little greedy pig! Already trying to steal her baby cousin’s thunder. Betsy has some pictures on her camera from the shower. I bet she’ll post them eventually! 🙂

Then on real Thanksgiving (but no more real in my heart) we went to Fort Worth after Austin got off of work and celebrated with the Lambs and Bartons! It was supes fun.

The next day I spent (three? four? five?) hours drawing this sign for Laurie while other people tended to my child.

xmas chalk sign drawing

“Oh, uh, yeah, I’m not done yet. Can you feed/change/hold the baby? Thanks.”

I don’t think anyone expected it to take as long as it did. I got sucked in.

So, that’s what happened between then and now!

Oh, two other cool things: Austin is going to be getting his own Starbucks to manage; I’m so proud! He’ll start training for that soon.

AND: I have a new goal! Here’s how it happened; another example of “input”.

I was reading Pride and Prejudice (yet again!) today on the kindle, when I came across this word that I didn’t understand:

“when he found her to prefer a plain dish to a ragout, had nothing to say to her”

Why don’t you prefer this, Lizzy???

So, of course I spent a while learning about that, and started browsing the gift shop at the website in the above link. I saw this cool Pride and Prejudice graphic novel, and started thinking about how fun it would be to make one. One of my life dreams is to put the “graphic” in a “novel” that I want my sister to write. So I read that Pride and Prejudice is in the public domain, which is why it is so often bastardized by crazy people. And then I started to think, how fun would it be to bastardize draw my own graphic novels of my favorite children’s books that are in the public domain??? The first one I want to do is “A Little Princess” and I will dedicate it to my little princess (barf) Robin. I’m expecting this to be the work of a few years, probably—especially judging by that chalk board sign—but I’m so excited!

Ok, EN FIN! When I update the blog, I really update the blog!

P.S. I hope no one notices that I over use parentheses and links. I am (like, really) into them.

I pray you are having a lovely Christmas season filled with days both merry and bright! Au revoir!

4 thoughts on “Four months auld (lang syne)

Leave a Reply

